Seeing those blue lights appear in your rear-view mirror can be tremendously unsettling, especially if you consumed any alcohol before getting behind the wheel of your car. If the law enforcement official who stops you gets the impression that you have, in fact, been drinking, he or she will likely conduct a breath test and, if appropriate, charge you with driving under the influence.
If that DUI charge ultimately leads to a conviction, you can anticipate facing some hefty consequences, which might include anything from up to six months behind bars to community service obligations and a loss of licensure. You will likely also have to pay considerable fines after a DUI conviction, and while these fines can set you back quite a bit financially, your DUI may, too, lead to financial hardship in other areas. More specifically, you can expect that your automotive insurance rates will rise substantially following a Florida DUI conviction, which can make it increasingly difficult to stay on top of your finances.
Florida auto insurance increases
Just how much of an automotive insurance rate hike should you expect after a DUI conviction? The exact amount of your insurance increase will probably vary based on certain circumstances, such as where you live and what your driving record already looks like. However, almost everyone across the nation will experience an increase in insurance after a conviction for drinking and driving. Nationally, most drivers with a first-time DUI on their records will see their insurance rates rise somewhere between roughly 30 and 370 percent.
In Florida, however, the average motorist who receives a conviction for a first-time DUI charge will see his or her insurance rates climb around 61 percent. While prior to a DUI conviction the typical Florida driver will pay about $2,250 a year for insurance, this figure rises to an average of $3,614 a year after a conviction.
While this increase in auto insurance can be tough to manage, in some cases, insurance providers may choose not to cover you at all once you have a DUI on your record.